Two short book reviews

Assignment in EternityAssignment in Eternity by Robert A. Heinlein

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Sometimes I treat old books as if they were old wine, savoring the story matured during decades. But sometimes they go sour, lose their flavor, and I just spit them out. I mean I give up reading. This is what happened to me reading Assignment in Eternity.
It took off well, the first story, “Gulf” was promising. I like fast paced action, so I followed the story with interest. Then the fast flow of events slowed down like a river leaving the mountains and spreading out wide on the plains. What followed was a boring discussion about people with super abilities. I found myself falling to sleep. By the end it started to be interesting again, but then BAMM, the protagonist died. End of story. I was left dumbfounded.
I found the next one, “Elsewhen” better. Interesting way of travelling in time, alternate Earths, different stages of evolution.
I gave up at the third one, when doctors started to discuss supernatural abilities. The subject itself was interesting, but the scene was so boring, I just didn’t care to continue.
Heinlein is a fine writer, but this book isn’t up to his writing talent.


Elf Saga: Doomsday (Omnibus Edition)Elf Saga: Doomsday by Joseph Robert Lewis

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have read some of the Joseph Lewis’ other books as a beta reader, and I have received an ARC of this one in exchange of an honest review.
I like the author’s stories, because he puts so many interesting ideas in them. Doomsday was another fine piece when his imagination went wild.
The first thing that made the book interesting is that the protagonists are five elven ladies. Yep, the ones with the pointy ears. They were funny and original and intriguing. I think the author nailed the characterisation quite well. Just to give an example: Lozen, the elf woman warrior had a boyfriend, Wolfram, who took care of her by cooking, carrying her things and occasionally fighting for her.
Besides the elves, there were dragons and witches, even unicorns in the story, so prepare yourself for a non-traditional fantasy.
I could go on, mentioning the amazing artefacts and the talking animals – but instead I say: go and read it yourself. It’s worth it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

