The Apex Book of World SF 3 edited by Lavie Tidhar

The Apex Book of World SF 3The Apex Book of World SF 3 by Lavie Tidhar

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Anthologies usually gather stories with different kind of writing style. This is good and bad the same time. Good, because I can read stories written with different authentic voices. It’s an experience like going to another country with unique culture. Bad, because some of the authors’ voices I find so strange that sometimes I give up on the story. It was so with this anthology too.

I liked several stories. The City of Silence was interesting to read, it allowed me a glimpse into the spirit of the government censure, and it projected what could happen if it goes wild. Brita’s Holiday village was also an interesting piece, which made me think. And I enjoyed the funny story about landing on the Mars and coming out of the ship dancing.

However, there were stories I started to read, but couldn’t finish. Some of them was written on a strange voice, it was hard to read them, so I gave up. Other stories lead nowhere. Maybe it’s only me, because I like fast paced stories and ones with twists, so a story about a drug addict trying to find his way in the world doesn’t appeal to me. And I don’t like horror, so I skipped a few stories.

The Apex Book of World SF 3 is an interesting anthology, bringing together non-native English writers from all around the world.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

