Endymion by Dan Simmons

Endymion (Hyperion, #3)Endymion by Dan Simmons

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

After I finished the book I asked myself: what was the purpose of this story? What was the point of the quest? Why did they go through those worlds instead of jumping to the final location? For Aenea to develop certain traits and improve her personality? Weak reason. It seemed that it was only for the sake of going on a quest. Come on. They even haven’t met the famous architect they were searching for.

This story was so much without a satisfying resolution that I felt cheated at the end. Remember what the Poet, at the beginning of the adventures, asked Endyminon to do? That was a promise from the author. Very few were achieved by the end. Oh, it will be in the next book? Then this one was only a prelude to the real events? I feel more cheated.

I liked the world-building, though. It was interesting to see the different worlds and cultures. Having the Hyperion books read it was kind of familiar feeling, as if I visited old places. I also liked the author’s voice.

The character of Aenea was weird. She knew so much in one moment, than she was a twelve year old child in the next. At the end of the book I got a hint that she was seeing visions from the future, but her character just didn’t came together properly.

Maybe the whole arc of the story will be completed in the next book, but I’m not sure I will buy it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

