Why I don’t watch Game of Thrones

The short answer is: they killed too many characters I liked.

Of course, the long answer is more complicated, but I can distill it to these simple reasons:

  • They said it was a fantasy show. It started with scary ice monsters. Later there were little dragons. And a mystical black entity. But for the first three seasons, practically that was it. Oh, yeah and a zombie-like creature appeared for a few seconds. Quite slim for a fantasy story if you ask me.
  • They killed Sean Bean. I mean Ned Stark. In the first season. It made me think whether the show was stupid or brilliant. And then at the end of the third season they killed the most of the Stark family. That was the point I stopped watching.

Let’s face it people: this is alternative history, spiced with some fantasy elements. It’s like putting a hint of red wine into a glass of lemon juice and calling it wine. It just isn’t.

Don’t misunderstand me, I don’t hate Game of Thrones, neither do I think it is a bad show. I just don’t care anymore.

Oh, by the way, I have to tell you that I haven’t read any of the GoT books. No way I’d spend that much time on this story.

Leave a Reply

