Unusual review of a book about dogs

Cesar's Way: The Natural, Everyday Guide to Understanding and Correcting Common Dog ProblemsCesar’s Way: The Natural, Everyday Guide to Understanding and Correcting Common Dog Problems by Cesar Millan

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When I was six, I had a dog. I don’t remember if it was a he or she, or what breed, most probably it was a mutt. Let’s say he was a male. I tried to teach him tricks and make him bow to my will, but he didn’t listen. He started to bark at the postman, and then he barked at everyone, and then he started to bite the postman. We had to get rid of him. Sad story.

Thirty four years later my wife got a dog. He is a Tibetian terrier, and he is the kindest animal I have ever met. When my wife adopted him I didn’t really care. He was just a dog, I had to get to used to that he was always under my feet. However, he did something amazing, he started to love me. He sat at my feet when I watched TV, he followed me and wagged his tale and begged me to pet him. First I ignored him. After a few months sometimes I petted him. After another few months I petted him while watching TV, talking to my wife, coming home, leaving, or any time he appeared. Slowly he made me a dog-lover. He tamed me. Happy story.

Three years ago my son talked us into getting a dog for him. He is a Golden retriever, he’s the most beautiful dog I have ever seen. He loves it when I rub his ears.

This being said, I don’t have a dog. My wife and my son do, but I don’t. Still, I find myself reading a book on dog-psychology and behavior and training. And I find it entertaining, having several aha! moments.

For example I didn’t know that the least important for a dog what I say to him. The order of importance is nose-eye-ear. And I do him no good if I run to him when I get home to pet him, because it doesn’t give the impression of the pack leader. I need to be the pack leader to show authority, because it makes him feel safe and calm being in my pack.

There are parts in the book that aren’t really about dogs, but Cesar’s way becoming the most popular dog trainer. Even these stories are interwoven with his love of dogs.

I learned a lot about dogs from Cesar Millan’s book: why they behave the way they behave, how they see the world, what they need to be a calm, happy dog. I found myself taking our dogs for long walks to make them move more, because it’s good for their mental and physical health.

Maybe it’s time to get a dog for myself?

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

